Replacement Master servers

Announcements, Important Things and other Cool Stuff

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
User avatar
Plasmatic
Lead Developer
Lead Developer
Posts: 8376
Joined: Mon Apr 29, 2002 11:00 pm
Location: 4th State of matter.
Contact:

Replacement Master servers

Post by Plasmatic » Wed Nov 21, 2007 7:52 pm

Image
The official Tribes master is down for reasons unknown. We have replacement master servers up and running.

Click the boogie man for detailed instructions. Image

-Plasmatic
Image
Last edited by Plasmatic on Wed Nov 21, 2007 7:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Plasmatic
Lead Developer
Lead Developer
Posts: 8376
Joined: Mon Apr 29, 2002 11:00 pm
Location: 4th State of matter.
Contact:

Post by Plasmatic » Wed Nov 21, 2007 7:56 pm

Adding a new master server to your Tribes.
There are two ways to add a master server to Tribes, through the in game interface, or manually by editing a config file. The manual method is preferred, but not necessary. Server operators should use the manual method.

If you add a master to your setup manually, Tribes will use the first working master in the line, the t1m1.tribes0.com master will automatically include other available masters. If you run a game server, Tribes will register with all servers in the list. Adding a master through the in game interface does not give Tribes a backup in case of master server failure, and is not recommended.

Adding new server with the network tab in Tribes (simple):
Image
Options > Network > Add >
Name = tribes0.com (can be anything)
Address = t1m1.tribes0.com:28000
However, adding it this way will cause tribes to ignore all other servers in the case of failure.


Adding a master server manually for servers or clients (preferred) :
Open config\serverPrefs.cs with notepad or another text editor. DO NOT USE WORDPAD, it will add formatting that will confuse Tribes.

Find the line containing

Code: Select all

$Server::MasterAddressN0 = "

In line after add:

Code: Select all

t1m1.tribes0.com:28000 

Note there should be a space after 28000, for example

Code: Select all

$Server::MasterAddressN0 = "t1m1.tribes0.com:28000 t1m1.masters.dynamix.com:28000 t1m2.masters.dynamix.com:28000 t1m3.masters.dynamix.com:28000";
(all one line)

You may manually add as many masters as you like.

If you experience problems, you may shut down Tribes, and delete serverPrefs.cs all together. Tribes will rebuild it on restart.


If you don't feel comfortable making changes to your main Tribes install, you can get a fresh Tribes patched and ready to run here: http://www.tribes0.com/trorbs.zip
Last edited by Plasmatic on Wed Nov 21, 2007 8:53 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Plasmatic
Lead Developer
Lead Developer
Posts: 8376
Joined: Mon Apr 29, 2002 11:00 pm
Location: 4th State of matter.
Contact:

Post by Plasmatic » Wed Nov 21, 2007 8:05 pm

Other master servers.

There are other master servers available, t1m1.tribes0.com will pull server lists from these servers, but if you would like to add them to your config, they are here:

Code: Select all

t1m1.masters.dynamix.com:28000
t1m2.masters.dynamix.com:28000
t1m3.masters.dynamix.com:28000
kigen.ath.cx:28000
skbmaster.ath.cx:28000
t1m1.masters.tribesmasterserver.com:28000
t1m1.pu.net:28000

User avatar
Surefyre
Commander
Commander
Posts: 830
Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2004 12:32 pm
Contact:

Post by Surefyre » Thu Nov 22, 2007 3:38 am

Thnx Plas, its works fine now, I was starting to wonder what the reasons were for the masters being down. Anybody know?

User avatar
Kigen
The Legendary Lone Marine.
Posts: 1577
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 1:00 pm

Post by Kigen » Thu Nov 22, 2007 8:31 am

Sierra wants to kill Tribes?

NoFiXette
Captain
Captain
Posts: 2425
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 8:22 am

Post by NoFiXette » Thu Nov 22, 2007 9:53 am

Surefyre wrote:Thnx Plas, its works fine now, I was starting to wonder what the reasons were for the masters being down. Anybody know?


Nothing lasts forever.

User avatar
Surefyre
Commander
Commander
Posts: 830
Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2004 12:32 pm
Contact:

Post by Surefyre » Thu Nov 22, 2007 11:10 am

Yah, I GUess thatd be a couple explanations, eh? Itll never die completely, or at least I Hope not. Kigen, Plas, SKB, Thanks for Setting up Masters for US to continue playing with. And NoFIX, Thanks for your vista patch, now I continue to play, even on sucky vista. And Crot, thanks for initially saving us.


Thanks,
[I*U]Surefyre
& The [I*U] and {TDC}
Clans.

User avatar
Anubis
=A cantora floribella=
Posts: 6896
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2005 3:02 pm
Location: Portugal
Contact:

Post by Anubis » Thu Nov 22, 2007 12:28 pm

plasmat!c, you could also make a serverprefs.cs for noobs, nah?

Perrinoia
Suggestion bot 10,000
Posts: 11185
Joined: Sat May 04, 2002 11:00 pm
Location: Rhode Island

Post by Perrinoia » Fri Nov 23, 2007 12:20 am

there are so many master servers now that we need a master list of them...

BTW: I often edit .cs documents with wordpad, it knows that .cs is plain text. MS Word on the other hand...

Toe
Lt Commander
Lt Commander
Posts: 427
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2005 3:29 am

Post by Toe » Mon Dec 17, 2007 12:21 am

As of this writing, Plas's master server is about as useful as the original Dynamix ones. ;)

http://www.tribesmasterserver.com/ms2gs_list.php wrote:Plasmatic
(0)


"That's not a zero, somebody messed up the Orb logo!"

User avatar
bob
Banned
Posts: 2575
Joined: Mon May 10, 2004 3:41 pm
Location: West Coast
Contact:

Post by bob » Mon Dec 17, 2007 12:34 am

plas is about as useful as a floppy dildo

User avatar
Sabre
2nd Lieutenant
2nd Lieutenant
Posts: 91
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 10:56 am

Post by Sabre » Tue Dec 18, 2007 4:37 pm

They don't want to kill Tribes, they just don't want to spend any resources keeping it alive. It's like a grandparent in the hospital: it's not because Tribes always brought VU crappy gifts and cheap candy, or touched VU inappropriately, VU just doesn't want to keep paying the hospital for a machine that breathes, eats, and craps for Tribes.

User avatar
Plasmatic
Lead Developer
Lead Developer
Posts: 8376
Joined: Mon Apr 29, 2002 11:00 pm
Location: 4th State of matter.
Contact:

Post by Plasmatic » Wed Dec 19, 2007 4:22 am

Toe wrote:As of this writing, Plas's master server is about as useful as the original Dynamix ones. ;)

http://www.tribesmasterserver.com/ms2gs_list.php wrote:Plasmatic
(0)


"That's not a zero, somebody messed up the Orb logo!"

HAHA, Toe. Wanker!

I'm not sure what was going on there, it was jammed up Monday.

User avatar
Anubis
=A cantora floribella=
Posts: 6896
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2005 3:02 pm
Location: Portugal
Contact:

Post by Anubis » Thu Dec 20, 2007 8:18 am

Plas, you meant Wanker?

Post Reply