One Master to rule them all, and in the darkness bind them.

Announcements, Important Things and other Cool Stuff

Moderator: Moderators

1 Tue Aug 14, 2007 9:03 am

The Tribes 1 Master Server is scheduled to be taken off line this Thursday the 16th of August, 2007.
Image
Crotalus has come up with a nice flexible solution

Click the Spock head for more information. Image

-Plasmatic
Image
Last edited by Plasmatic on Wed Nov 21, 2007 7:20 pm, edited 6 times in total.
User avatar
Plasmatic
Lead Developer
Lead Developer
 
Posts: 8375

2 Tue Aug 14, 2007 9:04 am

http://www.annihilation.info/forum/view ... 6629#86629
Crotalus wrote:Well, I've created a new master server program. I honestly didn't have the time for this, but I know it will be needed pretty soon here.

For everyone's information, I've taken a look at the old code I gave away and it is inoperable as a proper master server as far as I can tell. It was an early version that TRIBES 1.11+ does not utilize any longer.

This new server has the ability to mirror other master servers. I have not implemented any sort of caching mechanism beyond 6 minutes because I'm not sure how best to go about that.

NoFiX I need your help on this one, please :) I'd like you to throw whatever you can at my master at croroute.ath.cx:28000 or 76.31.4.28:28000. If you use any sort of IM, please IM me whenever you plan to do it.

Anyone else that cares to try is welcome. If you query only my master, you'll see that you also get the normal master's servers.

I will NOT be publicly distributing this server. For now, I'm unsure of whom to trust with the future master... This is a Java application that will run on the server vm and can run with Linux or Windows just fine.
User avatar
Plasmatic
Lead Developer
Lead Developer
 
Posts: 8375

3 Tue Aug 14, 2007 9:05 am

To add this server to your Tribes

Plasmatic wrote:Crotalus, I'm running this at t1m1.tribes0.com:28000

You guys can test this either by adding new server with the network tab in Tribes:
Options > Network > Add >
Name = new master
Address = t1m1.tribes0.com:28000
However, adding it this way will cause tribes to ignore all other servers in the case of failure.

If you add it to your setup manually, Tribes will use the first working master in the line, this Master will automatically include other available masters. If you run a game server, Tribes will register with all servers in the list.

To add it manually for servers or clients:
open config\serverPrefs.cs
Find the line containing
Code: Select all
$Server::Master1 = "

In line after add
Code: Select all
t1m1.tribes0.com:28000

Note there should be a space after 28000, for example:
Code: Select all
$Server::Master1 = "t1m1.tribes0.com:28000 t1m1.masters.dynamix.com:28000 t1m2.masters.dynamix.com:28000 t1m3.masters.dynamix.com:28000";
(All one line)

Find the line containing
Code: Select all
$Server::MasterAddressN0 = "

In line after add:
Code: Select all
t1m1.tribes0.com:28000

Note there should be a space after 28000, for example
Code: Select all
$Server::MasterAddressN0 = "t1m1.tribes0.com:28000 t1m1.masters.dynamix.com:28000 t1m2.masters.dynamix.com:28000 t1m3.masters.dynamix.com:28000";
(all one line)

If you experience problems, you may shut down Tribes, and delete serverPrefs.cs all together. Tribes will rebuild it on restart.

If you don't feel comfortable making changes to your main Tribes install, you can get a fresh Tribes patched and ready to run here: http://www.tribes0.com/trorbs.zip


edited for t1m1.tribes0.com:28000
Last edited by Plasmatic on Tue Aug 21, 2007 8:17 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Plasmatic
Lead Developer
Lead Developer
 
Posts: 8375

4 Tue Aug 14, 2007 9:14 am

Spock tells me the topic I'm looking for doesn't exist.
User avatar
Kigen
The Legendary Lone Marine.
 
Posts: 1577

5 Tue Aug 14, 2007 9:31 am

You logic is faulty, you're doing it wrong.
User avatar
Plasmatic
Lead Developer
Lead Developer
 
Posts: 8375

6 Tue Aug 14, 2007 11:45 am

Alright, I followed the instructions on manually adding to the dot. But for some reason, My server won't show up on the list. I got the new MOTD too. Also, is there supposed to be a new master server listed in the network section of options?

EDIT: Nevermind. The server I had favorited was fromt he old master I guess. My server is up there, there's just two of them for me XD (the old, dead one and the active one)
meenmu
Ensign
Ensign
 
Posts: 64

7 Tue Aug 14, 2007 12:43 pm

Nice work, guys. Does this mean GG didn't get the old Master?
Treshnell
Forum Ninja
 
Posts: 2566

8 Tue Aug 14, 2007 1:36 pm

The last words from them were asking about a linux solution.
This will work with Linux, so who knows...

By the way, I've configured my Master to pull information from the other existing Masters, including:
1) the official t1m1.masters.dynamix.com:28000
2) t1m1.masters.tribesmasterserver.com:28000
3) skbmaster.ath.cx:28000
4) kigen.ath.cx:28000

If anyone knows of other Masters, let me know.
User avatar
Plasmatic
Lead Developer
Lead Developer
 
Posts: 8375

9 Tue Aug 14, 2007 7:36 pm

cool it works great.

what if you PC explode? :P
User avatar
Anubis
=A cantora floribella=
 
Posts: 6896

10 Wed Aug 15, 2007 3:09 am

What happened to t1m1.annihilation.info?
User avatar
Kigen
The Legendary Lone Marine.
 
Posts: 1577

11 Wed Aug 15, 2007 4:00 am

Kigen wrote:What happened to t1m1.annihilation.info?

Configuration problems.
User avatar
Plasmatic
Lead Developer
Lead Developer
 
Posts: 8375

12 Wed Aug 15, 2007 4:09 am

Hmm, get a temporary solution with DynDNS?
User avatar
Kigen
The Legendary Lone Marine.
 
Posts: 1577

13 Wed Aug 15, 2007 9:25 am

I guess we could ask the people of the community to spread the information about this server so it might become the biggest around... i wouldnt want to see a bunch of masters around
Icehawk
Ensign
Ensign
 
Posts: 48

14 Wed Aug 15, 2007 10:41 am

Good work to the guys who have helped keep Tribes a playable game despite the unfortunate circumstances. If anyone has an installation of Tribes configured to include these masters already, let me know so I can grab it and replace my download with it.
Kirkesp
Captain
Captain
 
Posts: 1433

15 Wed Aug 15, 2007 11:27 am

take it easy kirk.. imagine that Garage games will host this kind of master server..... Then, the IP will change, etc..
User avatar
Anubis
=A cantora floribella=
 
Posts: 6896

16 Wed Aug 15, 2007 12:05 pm

Anubis wrote:take it easy kirk.. imagine that Garage games will host this kind of master server..... Then, the IP will change, etc..


the whole point was about the dns getting changed to or sold to GG
robindegen
I ril pr0 men
 
Posts: 6698

17 Wed Aug 15, 2007 12:22 pm

However hard you try, Tribes is gonna die anyways :P
User avatar
Freelancer
ɹǝɔuɐןǝǝɹɟ
 
Posts: 2045

18 Wed Aug 15, 2007 12:30 pm

Kirkesp wrote:Good work to the guys who have helped keep Tribes a playable game despite the unfortunate circumstances. If anyone has an installation of Tribes configured to include these masters already, let me know so I can grab it and replace my download with it.

I'm pretty sure it's int he first post, at the bottom...
meenmu
Ensign
Ensign
 
Posts: 64

19 Wed Aug 15, 2007 2:08 pm

Ok, well, I did a bit of work, and decided to write up a self extracting zip. Its basically just so peeps can update their master server shit w/o all the hassle.

http://members.execulink.com/~lorig/MasterUpdate.exe

And, for server operators, I used Kigens update, thru in a auto exec file, and made this up:

http://members.execulink.com/~lorig/ServerMasterUpdate.exe

Not the best .exe programs ever, but hey, I used winrar... gimme a break =P
KoD
Ensign
Ensign
 
Posts: 68

20 Wed Aug 15, 2007 2:46 pm

robindegen wrote:
Anubis wrote:take it easy kirk.. imagine that Garage games will host this kind of master server..... Then, the IP will change, etc..


the whole point was about the dns getting changed to or sold to GG


So.. that means GG failed with getting the dynamix domain?

here is a mirror

www.tribesone.net/anubis/Game.Updates/M ... Update.zip
User avatar
Anubis
=A cantora floribella=
 
Posts: 6896

Next

Return to News

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron