One Master to rule them all, and in the darkness bind them.

Announcements, Important Things and other Cool Stuff

Moderator: Moderators

Locked
HardDrive
Ensign
Ensign
Posts: 64
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 4:03 pm

Post by HardDrive » Sat Aug 25, 2007 9:48 pm

waaah

User avatar
BART_SIMPSON416
Homerbane4000
Posts: 2207
Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2004 1:47 pm

Post by BART_SIMPSON416 » Sun Aug 26, 2007 2:16 am

KoD wrote:i just heard a rumor on the Modx forums that Zed purchased Tribes. Any truth to this?


Do they really believe that. Zed is a piece of shit that speaks shit and is filled with shit. Nothing more nothing less, even his forum posts are shit.

Blakhart
The ultimate Iowigger!
Posts: 1615
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2005 7:33 pm
Location: Harm's way

Post by Blakhart » Sun Aug 26, 2007 6:29 am

Right, Dynamix (dynamics) it is then.

bugs_
1st Lieutenant
1st Lieutenant
Posts: 303
Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2006 3:05 pm

Post by bugs_ » Sun Aug 26, 2007 11:35 am

KoD wrote:i just heard a rumor on the Modx forums that Zed purchased Tribes. Any truth to this?


I never purchased tribes I downloaded it for free. I do know someone who
purchased tribes and he still has the box too.

NoFiXette
Captain
Captain
Posts: 2425
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 8:22 am

Post by NoFiXette » Sun Aug 26, 2007 12:08 pm

bugs_ wrote:I never purchased tribes I downloaded it for free. I do know someone who
purchased tribes and he still has the box too.


heh heh

i hope you were just joking, cause that was nice :)

Zed is saying he purchased the franchise - not just the game ;)

bugs_
1st Lieutenant
1st Lieutenant
Posts: 303
Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2006 3:05 pm

Post by bugs_ » Sun Aug 26, 2007 2:36 pm

yes.

Now I had seen Zed claim a $100k ask from his contact at VUG. I never
saw that he had executed - that would be both amazing and depressing
at the same time. Talk about going into limbo!

KoD
Ensign
Ensign
Posts: 68
Joined: Fri Apr 14, 2006 8:34 pm

Post by KoD » Sun Aug 26, 2007 3:17 pm

hmm... i think i'd find that scary... if i believed Zed had 100K

User avatar
BART_SIMPSON416
Homerbane4000
Posts: 2207
Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2004 1:47 pm

Post by BART_SIMPSON416 » Sun Aug 26, 2007 3:35 pm

KoD wrote:hmm... i think i'd find that scary... if i believed Zed had 100K


As I said, Zed is a piece of *oops* with a big mouth.

User avatar
Crotalus
I DEMAND A TITLE!
Posts: 2833
Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2004 10:54 pm
Location: Texas
Contact:

Post by Crotalus » Sun Aug 26, 2007 4:58 pm

I ACTUALLY BOUGHT OUT VU GAMES ALREADY, SORRY ZED. IT'S NOW KNOWN AS MODX GAMES AND IS INFINITELY BETTER.

KoD
Ensign
Ensign
Posts: 68
Joined: Fri Apr 14, 2006 8:34 pm

Post by KoD » Sun Aug 26, 2007 5:11 pm

WTF, I BOUGHT IT!!!

-MiD-
Banned
Posts: 2006
Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2006 8:58 pm

Post by -MiD- » Sun Aug 26, 2007 5:44 pm

You guys are all liars.
GG bought it and gave it to me because i helped them figure out how to recreate skiing.

bugs_
1st Lieutenant
1st Lieutenant
Posts: 303
Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2006 3:05 pm

Post by bugs_ » Sun Aug 26, 2007 7:31 pm

I noticed some "xfire" hosts sending "unknown" packets to my master
server a couple days ago. These are probably the gamespy things.

Can anyone (Crotalus?) tell us about what gamespy functionality is
implemented in the Dynamix master server? What are people expecting
us to respond with etc.

I would suppose there is a gamespy "get server list" query. I took a
peek at qstats and it does the regular tribes master server query to
get the server list. No help there.

Threatcon
Ensign
Ensign
Posts: 79
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2004 9:07 am
Location: Florida
Contact:

Post by Threatcon » Sun Aug 26, 2007 8:15 pm

Maybe this has something to do with it...
http://videogames.yahoo.com/multiplayer

The All-Seeing Eye does support Tribes 1 as I just tested it.

or001
Ensign
Ensign
Posts: 79
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2007 9:53 am

Post by or001 » Sun Aug 26, 2007 9:14 pm

bugs_ wrote:Can anyone (Crotalus?) tell us about what gamespy functionality is implemented in the Dynamix master server? What are people expecting us to respond with etc.

I would suppose there is a gamespy "get server list" query. I took a peek at qstats and it does the regular tribes master server query to get the server list. No help there.


I noticed with my master server, when I ran qstat against it, my server choked. The query was not the same as the client.

The query was only 5 bytes long, where the client query was 8 bytes long. What I found was that I had to test for the sixth byte in the client request, if it did not exist, then I had to pad/replace with 0x00. Then all worked just fine.

So that is one difference that I noticed.

User avatar
Crotalus
I DEMAND A TITLE!
Posts: 2833
Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2004 10:54 pm
Location: Texas
Contact:

Post by Crotalus » Sun Aug 26, 2007 9:47 pm

I've never used or even heard of qstat and did not know about this discrepancy.

Honestly, I won't be making any changes to my server until I see there is actually a need for it. As far as I know, GG would just as soon rewrite the entire master themselves.

User avatar
BART_SIMPSON416
Homerbane4000
Posts: 2207
Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2004 1:47 pm

Post by BART_SIMPSON416 » Mon Aug 27, 2007 1:53 am

Crotalus wrote:I ACTUALLY BOUGHT OUT VU GAMES ALREADY, SORRY ZED. IT'S NOW KNOWN AS MODX GAMES AND IS INFINITELY BETTER.


Srry, I bought you yesterday.

or001
Ensign
Ensign
Posts: 79
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2007 9:53 am

Post by or001 » Mon Aug 27, 2007 8:42 am

Crotalus wrote:I've never used or even heard of qstat and did not know about this discrepancy.

Honestly, I won't be making any changes to my server until I see there is actually a need for it. As far as I know, GG would just as soon rewrite the entire master themselves.


Link for qstat http://www.qstat.org/ and http://sourceforge.net/projects/qstat/

Qstat is what I use when someone views this page. http://www.tribesmasterserver.com/play.php

I am soon going to re-write the page to handle everything in PHP. The actual game server list request and then getting all the information from the individual game servers.

So far, this is what I use when starting the packets for sending the response back to the client. If you know PHP things will look familiar.

Code: Select all

// 0x10    Game Type
$header[0] = chr(16);

// 0x06    Request Type
$header[1] = chr(6);

// 0xFF    Not sure
$header[2] = chr(1);

// Total number of packets
$header[3] = chr(ceil($total / SERVERSPCK));

// Get this from client
$header[4] = $buff[4];

// Get this from client
$header[5] = (isset($buff[5])?$buff[5]:chr(0));

// Padding
$header[6] = chr(0);

// Always seems to be 0x66
$header[7] = chr(102);


$buff array is the packet received from the clients request and it was $buff[5] that is missing from the qstat master server request.

robindegen
I ril pr0 men
Posts: 6698
Joined: Thu Jul 10, 2003 3:20 pm

Post by robindegen » Mon Aug 27, 2007 12:18 pm

// 0xFF Not sure
$header[2] = chr(1);

0xFF is either 255 or -1. I dont get where chr(1); comes from ?

or001
Ensign
Ensign
Posts: 79
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2007 9:53 am

Post by or001 » Mon Aug 27, 2007 12:58 pm

robindegen wrote:// 0xFF Not sure
$header[2] = chr(1);

0xFF is either 255 or -1. I dont get where chr(1); comes from ?


The three different examples that I used for the base of my script showed

0xFF
1
0x00

as valid entries for this position. This is why I'm not sure what it was for.

That position and positions 7 and 8 are the ones that I'm not so sure about.

Any ideas what they are for or what the refer to?

robindegen
I ril pr0 men
Posts: 6698
Joined: Thu Jul 10, 2003 3:20 pm

Post by robindegen » Mon Aug 27, 2007 1:18 pm

those positions you speak of are just bytes. It might even be a number that takes up multiple bytes. Especially if you find a 0x00 somewhere, big change it's a 2 of 4 byte int or float (allthough i highly doubt there's any floats in a master server :) )

Locked